Portland Trip 2014: Photos Day 4 and 5

Some Pictures from my Ride home from Portland. You can go here for everything about the trip.

After a ok ride to the Oregon Coast I took a breakfast break at a Vista point.

After a ok ride to the Oregon Coast I took a breakfast break at a Vista point.

It was an overall ok day for riding as I left Portland and headed West to the Coast.

Just checking out the bike. I noticed that I have a chipped headlight... not sure when that happened.

Just checking out the bike. I noticed that I have a chipped headlight… not sure when that happened.

Sadly I did not see much of the Coast on my trip. This was the second best view of the day... and it wasn't that great.

Sadly I did not see much of the Coast on my trip. This was the second best view of the day… and it wasn’t that great.

After the Coast I turned inland and made a race to Bend… not sure why the rush, but I had lots of miles to cover. Not much else for the day until I was headed to my campsite.

I stopped to take this even though I was worried about setting up my tent in the dark. I like how it turned out... so it was worth it.

I stopped to take this even though I was worried about setting up my tent in the dark. I like how it turned out… so it was worth it.

I knew it was going to get cold, I just wasn’t quite ready for how cold.

It was very very cold in the morning as I packed up for the ride home.

It was very very cold in the morning as I packed up for the ride home.

I was freezing for the first part of the ride. I thought I’d never get feeling back in my toes and worried a little about losing fingers. I stopped for a bit to defrost… at a crossroads in the middle of no where.

At least the sun was shining as I decided to risk running out of gas going the right way or go 40 minutes out of my way to be safe. I took the risk.

At least the sun was shining as I decided to risk running out of gas going the right way or go 40 minutes out of my way to be safe. I took the risk.

Lots of this. Roads like lines.

Lots of this. Roads like lines.

But sometimes the view just knocked you out and you had to stop.

But sometimes the view just knocked you out and you had to stop.

I wish the road here had a point where I could capture all the color. It was glorious going though this canyon so pretty.

I wish the road here had a point where I could capture all the color. It was glorious going though this canyon so pretty.

 

Hwy 36 starts like this and it just so amazing.

Hwy 36 starts like this and it just so amazing.

I am smiling like an idiot behind that tinted visor.

I am smiling like an idiot behind that tinted visor.

I already shared some pictures from Hwy 36. It was glorious… such a great finale to what was a motorcycle trip of a lifetime.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
Image | This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Photos, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Portland Trip 2014: Photos Day 4 and 5

  1. steve ford says:

    Nice photos ! I have been thinking of riding from San Francisco to Portland for about a year. Now I really want to do it.

  2. Pingback: Portland Trip 2014: Day Five | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: Target Portland: The Whole Thing | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. Eric says:

    Just passing through… but figured I’d compliment you on the pictures. You’ve inspired me to do a similar road trip. Though, I’m not sure how I’m going to swing it on a CBR 600…

Leave a Reply

