Is there anything worse than a Red Light on a Sunny Day?

It gets hot in this thing just sitting here.

It gets hot in this thing just sitting here.

Spring is definitely here, the sun is shinning and these last few days it’s been very warm. I do like the spring, it’s a great time to ride, no one likes being cold and freezing my way to work (and sometimes home) is something to be endured not enjoyed. However, there is one downside to all this sunshine.

It’s waiting at those red lights.

It’s not because I’m impatient (although that is part of it), it’s because I’m roasting as I sit there. My Aerostich suit is not made to be comfortable sitting still, it’s made to protect me from sudden and unexpected stops. It’s tolerable on a warm day when moving, but sitting still for more then a few seconds and soon it’s uncomfortably warm and I’m dying. Really any time it gets above 80 Fahrenheit and I’m cursing every red light I see. At over 90 I’m contemplating doing just about anything to keep moving and the air flowing.

So the next time you see me wiggle my way to the front off all the stopped cars and then zoom off as soon as the light turns green, remember that it’s not all because of my love of speed, I’m just trying to stay cool.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is there anything worse than a Red Light on a Sunny Day?

  1. I wore my RC suit in the Badlands of South Dakota and it touched 120 degrees each of the three days I was there. After that adventure, my suit never seems to get hot any more.

  2. I hate stopping at reds in warm weather due to the bees that always seem more interested in my bike than any cars around :/ so when I filter I’m just trying to get away from the bees…. yeah, that’s it. Blame the bees 🙂

Leave a Reply

