Portland Trip 2014: Epic Road

 

Looking back at this section of awesome, it was hard to stop to take these pictures.

Looking back at this section of awesome, it was hard to stop to take these pictures.

I know I said a couple of days ago that the camping was the my favorite part of the trip.
I lied.
What I really didn’t want to do is share this, since part of me wants to keep this road to myself, making sure as few people know about it as possible. The realist in me realizes that since no one really reads this blog there is no way that me talking about it here will ruin it. (It’s on butler maps anyway)
I”m talking about Hwy 36 heading west from Hwy 5 to 101. I really can’t say enough about this road. Riding it was the highlight of the trip, and that’s saying something with how great 96 was, and how much I enjoy stretches of Hwy 1.

If I wanted to test someones road riding skills I would send them to this road.
This road has everything.
Big sweepers?
Check.

Tight twisty goodness?

Great road! Just don't make a mistake... it's a long way down.

Great road! Just don’t make a mistake… it’s a long way down.

Check!

Rolling hills and curves?

Just beautiful

Just beautiful

Check!

And when you think it had it all, your reminded toward the end it does. One lane twisty bits?
Check!

It’s 120ish miles of joy. I have no idea how bad traffic is out there in the summer or how hot it gets, all I know that on a Monday in April 2014 I had some of the most fun I’ve had on a motorcycle.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Portland Trip 2014: Epic Road

  1. Pingback: Portland Trip 2014: Photos Day 4 and 5 | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  2. Pingback: Portland Trip 2014: Day Five | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: Target Portland: The Whole Thing | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

