Portland Trip 2014: Motorcycle Camping

So my Portland Trip was quite the excellent motorcycle adventure as a whole, but I’m breaking it down in to many pieces so I can actually post them with out them being a really long wordy post (that then no one will read). However, if you like reading you can always check out my MotoCamping Packing List and my MotoCamping Guide.

Motorcycle Camping

I love camping and one of the things I was most excited about on this trip was the fact that I was going to get to do a little camping. It did not disappoint, and it pretty much was everything I was hoping it would be.
It’s been ages since I’ve been able to go camping, growing up my family used to camp every summer and as a teenager I was in the Boy Scouts and we would go backpacking nearly every month. So it’s definitely something that I have some experience with.

It was a lovely little site.

It was a lovely little site.

I didn’t go hard core I decided early on that I wouldn’t be cooking at my campsite, not because I’d forgotten all those years of scouting experience of how to cook while backpacking, but because I didn’t have the space to pack all the stuff that would make it possible.

Ranger told me to put my receipt in my windscreen... or something like that.

Ranger told me to put my receipt in my windscreen… or something like that.

The tent went up quickly and I'm still very pleased about it.

The tent went up quickly and I’m still very pleased about it.

Had to get Firewood at the nearest town, sadly it was a bit green and did not work well.

Had to get Firewood at the nearest town, sadly it was a bit green and did not work well.

So I ate before getting to the campground and both nights had a bottle of wine to make getting to sleep a bit easier.

In my mind all the ingredients for a prefect night.

In my mind all the ingredients for a prefect night.

The fire did not last long, but that was the only disappointment of the night.

The fire did not last long, but that was the only disappointment of the night.

I haven’t been camping on my own in ages if ever and while I missed my Lovely Wife, it was very nice to be completely by myself with no distractions. Plenty of time to think and catch up on some reading.
I did learn (or relearn) somethings about lighting fires, and next time I’ll bring a hatchet or larger knife for making kindling since the wood did not come with enough (though I’m not sure I’d be able to find room for it in my luggage).

This was by far the thing I was happiest I remembered to pack.

This was by far the thing I was happiest I remembered to pack.

Thankfully all those years of backpacking means that I wasn’t caught out needing anything else besides that. Like I said, it was a great time, and I’m trying to figure out how to do it again.

Bike was Full

A short break along Hwy 1

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Portland Trip 2014: Motorcycle Camping

  1. Pingback: Another Year of Motorcycling: 2014 in Reveiw | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

