Not so Dedicated

So last week it was cold and wet.

This week the sun is out, it’s warm and we’re having some wonderful weather.

Not surprisingly I saw a lot more motorcycles out there on the roads the last two days than I saw in the previous months.

It's nice to see bikes on the Road, I just wish they were out there on the road more often.

It’s nice to see bikes on the Road, I just wish they were out there on the road more often.

I find this sad in many ways. I just don’t understand why some people only ride when the weather is “perfect”. If you only ride when it’s just right you don’t ride that much and you miss out of a lot of great riding. Now remember I’m here in the San Francisco Bay Area, with a commute on one of the most beautiful freeways in the world, so I do make allowances for those of you who don’t live where there is riding weather 365 days a year. I’m pretty sure that most people who live where the weather is that crappy ride more than some of the softies here in CA.

What also stumps me is I basically see myself as a “softy” when it comes to motorcycling. For example, I often drive when it’s raining, and when it’s really cold. Of course nearly every time I do I end up wishing I road my motorcycle.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Not so Dedicated

  1. Chad Gagné says:

    Hey man, I live that life 100%. I’ve been on two wheels since I was fourteen, and I’m almost 18 now. The pain of having to deal with all the rain in cold is a pain I gladly welcome every day. There are few days too cold, or even too wet that I don’t ride.

  2. The ONLY thing that prevents me from riding is icy/snowy roads. I will ride in sub-zero temps, even when the tires and suspension feel so stiff I worry something might break. It puzzles me how most people in my area think I’m crazy for riding even when it’s still 40 degrees or raining. Many of these people talk the talk (“Live to ride, man!”) but don’t walk the walk (ride the ride?). I LOVE riding. It takes a LOT to keep me off the bike. I don’t understand how others can so easily leave their bikes at home if they love riding as much as they say they do.

    • Cynic13th says:

      Awesome!
      People like you make me feel weak when I don’t ride.(since I don’t always ride when it’s raining or sub 40) Then then I realize how much I do actually ride compared to most “motorcyclists” and feel much better about myself =)

  3. Here in Colorado, I’ve been on the bike when it’s 27F before factoring in wind chill. It was still a great day to ride with clear blue skies! If there is even a chance of ice or snow then I’ll call it off, but otherwise, keep calm and ride on!

Leave a Reply

