Monster Update: We’re not getting any younger.

The monster was in for it’s 12k mile service last week.
She’s getting a bit worn and her nearly 70,000 miles are beginning to show.

  • Metal shavings in the prefilter.
  • Cam belt bearing needed replacing.
  • Clutch is beginning to slip a bit.
  • Oil is leaking from a few seals.
  • Hose to the oil breather is cracked and leaking oil.
  • The Oil Tempature sensor that was reading wrong and high was replaced and now it’s reading correctly which means I’m a little less worried on every ride.

Overall she’s doing ok, but I’m not sure how much longer we’ll be able to keep saying that. I’m hoping she holds out for another 12k miles (basically another year) before leaving me for Ducati Heaven. (although making it to 100k miles would be awesome) Replacing her then would be a bit easier.

Stopped at San Gregorio Beach on the way to the Shop for a photo.

Stopped at San Gregorio Beach on the way to the Shop for a photo.

Nichols did a great job again. I have nothing but nice things to say about the guys there.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monster Update: We’re not getting any younger.

  1. PaulMEdwards says:

    What year is it? I put 63,000 miles on my 2008 Buell 1125R in 3 years… Then it had a maintenance mishap and has been parked since. 😥

    • Cynic13th says:

      It’s a 2005 Monster 620. I took a two year break on it for the damn BMW, I got the Monster used with 1300 miles on it late spring 2006.

      Sorry to hear about your bike being parked for several years, hopefully you’re on something else =)

      • PaulMEdwards says:

        I am; a 2005 Yamaha FJR1300ATC and I bought my wife a 2010 Yamaha FZ6-R that I use sometimes. But neither compare to my Buell 1125R for sheer joy.

Leave a Reply

