Going a bit too far?

 

20140328-130539.jpg

 

My Monster is in the shop and lucky for me my Lovely Wife doesn’t commute on her bike so I can borrow it for mine when this happens. Her bike is just like mine in most ways besides color so it’s generally and easy transition.

However, when the fuel light comes on while I’m on my way to work I did panic a bit. You see I was just past a point of easily turning around for gas, and along the stretch of highway at the hour that I go to work there are not a lot of options for getting gas. My panic grew a bit when I when I checked the trip meter and saw how many miles I had gone on this tank so far I got a much higher number than I was expecting.

It was a whole process of wondering how similar where are bikes really.
If it was mine I knew I had enough gas to make the 20 miles to the nearest gas station. I know her bike runs leaner than mine by a little so I should be ok… but what if the light comes on much later than on mine? What would I do if I do run out of gas? What if…

I kept going. I made some assumptions and figured I’d rather be wrong headed the right way than turning around. What that says about me I have no idea.

In the end it all worked out, but 181 miles on a 3.5 Gallon tank… I was pushing it a bit.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going a bit too far?

  1. PaulMEdwards says:

    51.7 mpg is pretty darn good!

Leave a Reply

