Target Portland: Route planning

I’m trying to finalize in my head my planned route to Portland. I know some would just head out, but I have limited time and when traveling solo I want my Family to know where I am for their peace of mind.

I’m pretty sure I’m going to take Hwy 1 for most of the journey. There aren’t enough (or any) other roads that go north-south that have the mix of fun twisty bits while still being a highway so I can make decent forward progress and not take five days to get to Portland.

My main questions for the ride up is when to stop riding on Hwy One, since once you’re in Oregon it loses most of it’s allure. It becomes much less twisty, and thanks to the many Oregon Towns who make their money giving tickets to speeding Californians, not as fast. It is filled with stretches of road with very low speed limits that you must adhere to. This makes it hard to make fast progress.

I’m pretty sure I’ll be camping the first night at Patrick’s Point just North of Eureka (my day one route). The route from Patricks Point to Portland is really where I get lost for a good route. Google has some suggestions. Though the more I look at the Map, the more I change my mind. It’s tricky, but a good fun problem to have.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Target Portland: Route planning

  1. Island Rider says:

    I know what you mean, “Though the more I look at the Map, the more I change my mind.” I’m riding from Vancouver BC to Miami. Starting my eastern leg through Death Valley. Any suggestions for the WA OR leg?

    • Cynic13th says:

      Not yet, I haven’t done that much in OR that really struck me as worth repeating. I’m a big fan of Butler Maps, I don’t know if they have one for that area yet, but worth checking out.

  2. Pingback: Target Portland: The Whole Route | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: The Portland Trip: North To Portland | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

