Spring Motorcycling: Target Portland

I’m working hard at figuring out my next adventure on the motorcycle.

California needs a good north south road besides Hwy One.

California needs a good north south road besides Hwy One.

Spring is just around the corner, and I’m still going nuts for a long motorcycling trip, preferably with some camping involved. I’ve been looking at maps and trying to justify a trip to myself for months but nothing seemed to fit into the schedule.

Then suddenly it was there. A gap in the schedule, the Lovely Wife is going to Portland for a baby shower and we decided that it wasn’t really worth the money for me to fly up there. So with her gone for a long weekend what was I going to do. I was struggling with coming up with somewhere to go, since I did not think a short trip would do. Eventually I figured that I like her Brother and his Wife too, so what the heck I’ll go to the shower (or for beers with the husbands) in Portland too. I’ll just take the motorcycle.

Now for the details, how to get up and back in 4 days. It is still a lot of miles, especially when you realize I want avoid Hwy 5 like the plague. Most routes have my travel time at 8 hours one day and 9 hours the second. That is pretty hard core for 4 days in a row.

I’ll look at my Butler Maps and then post up some of the routes I’m looking at soon.

I just hope the weather ends up nice, I do want to camp, and riding and camping in the rain… doesn’t sound like much fun!

The home away from home.

The home away from home.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

