GOAL!!!

I celebrate being 30 lbs faster!

I celebrate being 30 lbs faster!

I can’t really call it a new years resolution, it was more like a late 2013 resolution. Regardless it’s nice to set goals and reach them.

In October I decided to reverse my life long trend of slowly gaining weight. I mean I could forgive myself the first 20ish years but really I did not have the same excuse (growing up) for the following 20. When it creeps up on you like that you really never feel that heavy, but I was definitely getting up there. It was made worse by the last five pounds I gained after the rough late summer I’d had with a very sick beloved pet.

What did I do?

I did start exercising a little more, but mainly I started watching what I ate. I downloaded an APP for my phone and got down to work.

End result?
I’m way over 30 lbs less than I was when I was in October.

OK, so what does this have to do with motorcycling? It should have something to do with it, this is a blog about motorcycling right?

Well I’ve already mentioned how I’m now faster here.  Which should be enough really, but sadly there is another side effect which I had not foreseen.

It’s what some might call ironic, but since irony is a difficult thing to define I’ll just call it a strange/funny coincidence. As I mentioned in another blog post, one of my motivations for losing the weight was the fact that my heated vest was getting a “bit” tight, and I was worried that I wouldn’t fit it any more. So I’ve lost all this weight and it fits fine… but now my aerostich riding suit doesn’t fit so great anymore…

Damn.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GOAL!!!

  1. 30 pounds, that is real weight. Maybe buy some more Kevlar re-enforced pads to fill in some of the gaps.

  2. Great job on losing so much weight – that is a huge accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

