It’s Cold in the Mornings

I know complaining about the cold while living in CA doesn’t get me very far with everyone who is freezing, but bear with me.

In the early mornings it’s in the low 40’s and high 30’s here. Which as I’ve said elsewhere is about the limit of my riding temperature range. This is because even with good thick gloves my fingers are painful icicles by the time I get to work.
Every morning as I sit in my warm house I debate taking the car, thinking about how cold the ride is going to be, and how much my poor fingers are going to hurt. Every morning I still put on my gear and ride.
Why?
It’s because I love riding motorcycles, and I know that the ride home will make up for it. After riding my motorcycle home I’ll be much happier than if I took the car. Getting home after riding is a sense of accomplishment, a feeling of just being alive, and never have I felt  those things from driving home in the car.
Riding is always an adventure, and you are the lone hero in the saga.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Cold in the Mornings

  1. Pingback: In the Moment | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

