Practice Makes Perfect, (but how much?)

I have a couple of close friends who are getting into motorcycles. They took the MSF, got their licenses and have spent a fair amount of time practicing in a parking lot. 

Yet when one of them told me that he was going to ride to work this week I freaked out. I just wasn’t that sure of his ability. For no good reason too, I haven’t seen him ride ever. Just all second hand stuff stories, and none of those would have made me think he wasn’t ready. I just… assumed the worst and was not ready to have my baby birds leave the nest… or something less lame sounding.

I know I recommended something here, but I was wondering if any of my readers had any opinions on this.

How much riding post parking lot is needed before heading out to streets?

How much back streets before just riding?

 

Update: He did ride to and from work and is safe and sound. I’m looking forward to watching their skills grow so we can ride together.

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.