Sometimes you just have a bad day.

I’m not sure what it was. I have some ideas… but I can’t really say for sure why I was off my game so badly.
Riding the long way home on Friday after work, at the end of what had been a long week. I forgot to eat lunch before I left, but I wasn’t feeling hungry, so your guess is as good as mine.

It started all wrong. It’s all on film so you could watch it, however that might be a bit boring so I’ll sum up the highlights… which were anything but.

Immediately on passing 280 I got stuck behind a grandpa driving very sedately home. Thankfully he got out of my way and for a while it was good.
Until I blew a corner I had no business messing up. I am pretty upset about this, Page Mill is my road. I’ve ridden up it dozens if not hundreds of times. I went in too fast with bad body position and instead of moving more on the bike, I just sat up and crossed the double yellow. Very sloppy. I don’t know what exactly I was thinking in that moment, I’d like to think I could see far enough around the turn to know that I wouldn’t end up plastered all over the front of someones car. I was just tired, or lazy, or both. I’m pretty upset at myself. It’s the kind of mistake that can get you killed or badly hurt.

This definitely took the wind out of my sails, luckily it was the end of Page Mill right before Skyline. (In fact it’s the part that I shared in this video)

Here is the mistake in all of it’s glorious stupidity. Not that you can see much and the big wobble is me shaking my head at myself not the bike doing something weird.
Later on I got caught behind a super slow Scion XB crawling though the last good set of corners on Skyline.

Over all, I was just not in sync with my motorcycle. Felt like I was either going to slow or too fast. Just out of sorts.

It will be interesting to watch the video of the ride since I recorded the whole terrible thing. See if I can see any other stupid maneuvers.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes you just have a bad day.

  1. Everyone has bad days, I treat every ride as a learning experience. It looks to me like you didn’t follow one of the rules:
    – Start wide. Finish tight
    I’m guilty of this as well. Too busy looking at the scenery and not concentrating on what I’m supposed to be doing.
    Stay safe

    • Cynic13th says:

      Yeah, I was all over the place on that last bit of road, going too fast for my frame of mind. I hope to go home that way later this week and do a better job of it.

Leave a Reply

