Why I Ride

It was inevitable. Eventually I would have to try and articulate in words why I ride a motorcycle. Even if I’m not often asked why I ride, I do find myself having to defend it often enough that I’ve thought about it quite a bit. In fact I’ve been working on this blog post off and on all year. So now that the year is winding to a close I think I’ll be able to give a pretty good go at explaining it. Whether or not you actually understand my reasons… well that’s not guaranteed.

My first image taken from filming my ride home.

My first image taken from filming my ride home.

Why am I so obsessed? What is it about riding that is so addictive that makes me talk, write, and do it so much?

I’m not entirely sure I know…

However I’ll see what I can come up with. I have written over 500 words on why I think it’s a difficult and uncomfortable thing so I clearly I must really  like it enough to overcome all of that.

I’m not going to lie, one of the biggest things I like about motorcycles is how fast they are. Not really about the top speed, it is more about the acceleration. My favorite part of a plane trip is take off… I love that feeling. Motocycles out accelerate everything on a dollar to speed chart. (excepting maybe jumping off buildings, but somethings are more dangerous than riding)

I love going from 10 mph to 50 in the blink of an eye. My inner ear and brain love that feeling.

The very close second most favorite thing I love about motorcycling is turning. Leaning the bike over and seeing the ground rush past, it’s like you’re defying gravity (in some ways you are) as you swoop through turns. This is when it feels as if I’m flying. Moving my body into the turn and off the bike. Then I leaning the bike over, which means there’s nothing between me and the road. I’m just skimming along with nothing under me. Glorious. In the same way I love going from one turn into the next, quickly moving from one side of the bike to the other.

My third favorite thing is that vaunted and most often referenced sense of freedom. With no windshield and steel cage around me I am “in the world”. Nothing separates me from the wind, sun, and smells of the outside. Motorcycling doesn’t allow you to miss any of what is happening. You are in the Now, and every degree of temperature change and smell is noticed for good and bad.

Lastly, though it’s still a really big part of the whole thing, I ride for the journey. I ride to take that different road home. To go to LA by the most indirect route as possible. For the long way home. It’s such a joy to just be on the bike, I often find myself taking the longest way possible to somewhere, just to extend the ride.

I have no idea what my life would be without riding a motorcycle, but I know that I can’t imagine it being much better.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Why I Ride

  1. Not an easy question to answer. You answer but you always can add to what you’ve said… Your answer depends a lot on who ask and how they ask… Still not an easy question to answer but all who ride know the answer… It doesn’t need to be spoken… This my attempt to answer the question… http://www.thetexasrambler.com/2012/08/16/why-do-you-ride-motorcycles/

    Ride safe…

  2. “in the world”
    I like that…
    Cheers

  3. BikerCrap says:

    Oh the infamous “why I ride” question and answer. We all have our reasons, some different some the same but most of all they are our own!

  4. “You are in the Now”. Agree. Perfect feeling.

  5. Cynic13th says:

    Reblogged this on The Ramblings of a Cynic and commented:

    I wrote this a few weeks ago and thought I should share it on my other blog.

  6. Pingback: Another Year of Motorcycling: 2014 in Reveiw | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  7. Pingback: Motorcycle Overload? | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  8. ath9598 says:

    This is such a hard question to answer. “Nothing separates me from the wind, sun, and smells of the outside. Motorcycling doesn’t allow you to miss any of what is happening. You are in the Now, and every degree of temperature change and smell is noticed for good and bad.” That really speaks to me and the reasons why I ride. I tried to answer the same question over at http://mylifeexplored.com/2016/12/04/how-i-got-into-motorcycles/ if you’d like to check it out. For myself, and taken directly from my post, “Riding a motorcycle is knowing that no one has experienced a road the same way I am no matter how many people have driven it before me.”

    Thanks for sharing!

  9. Pingback: Why You Really Don’t Want to Ride a Motorcycle | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

