The Year in Review 2013

Winter is here again. The year is quickly running out and I’m looking back at a year of ups and downs but over all a year of moving forward. This moving forward was like most things in my life was because of Family.

New Years Eve 2012, my mother pulls me aside and tells me that she thinks I need to write more in the coming year. She knows it’s always been a passion with me and she suggests a deal, I’ll write more and she will finally learn to play the harp like she’s been meaning to.

So I started writing. Trying to average at least 20 minutes every day.  I’m sure my mother was hoping that I’d write a novel or something, but I resurrected this blog instead.

The nice thing about writing a blog, is that looking back at the year is pretty easy, you just look back at what you wrote. This is going to be my version of a best of 2013, but not really a best of since as far as motorcycling goes it was a pretty rough year.

Riding around town

The year started with getting the motorcycle it’s long over due service. The monster had about 55,000 miles on it, and was about 2,000 miles past needing a service. Interestingly everything seemed fine after the service and I would have never guessed that my summer would be filled with so much motorcycle mechanical woes. But in January everything seemed great and I started to plan a trip to Death Valley with some friends.

In Febuary, in preperation for what would be many miles in the saddle I rode up to Fort Ross and Back on Hwy 1. This was a glorious ride and sadly looking back the best one of the year.

The Death Valley trip was a huge bust. I’m still hoping to get out to Death Valley sometime, but it ended up being a fairly traumatic attempt at a motorcycle adventure. It really all comes back to the fact that I had a bad Stator.  From then on it seemed like I had a motorcycling curse. The only note worthy things I did regarding motorcycling were off the bike with my trip to Austin to see history being made with the MotoGP race.

The late spring and summer were filled with visits and phone calls to my mechanic. My Oil pressure light woes and then my TPS, kept me from really enjoying any thing more than the occasional ride on the Long Way Home. However in September it was time for a 6,000 mile service and to get the TPS fixed. There was a little bit of worry with this but it all worked out and I got to ride to Laguna Seca and see WSBK racing there for the first time.

I had a wonderful fall riding as much as I could enjoying the last of the nice weather as often as I could. In early November this blog came to the attention to the cool people at Ride Apart and I got my first Guest Post with them. I was pretty proud and honored by this request to do a Guest Post with them, it really made it feel like all the efforts I’ve put into writing this year have been worth it.

Now the year is over. 2013 was nothing if not an adventure. The bike is running pretty well for a Ducati with 65,000 miles on it, and I’m hoping next year is even better. Looking forward to writing a lot more words here for everyone who finds this blog to enjoy.

The Moto Cynic

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding, Story, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

