How It All Started

While you could go back to the first posts on this blog and read from there I thought it would be best to maybe finally write down how I actually got started on this two wheeled adventure.

In hindsight it is a bit surprising  that I ride a motorcycle in the first place. I did not grow up really wanting to ride one. Well not enough that I actually thought about trying to.

My dad rode one when I was very young but he had stopped and sold his bike a little after when my brother was born in 1981. I do remember getting in trouble for climbing on it so maybe there was some call I felt even when I was little.

The seed that was my love of motorcycles lay dormant for the next 25 years or so. Besides a infatuation with the Cyclone Mecha from the 80’s cartoon Robotech, I can’t think of any particular interest in anything two wheeled.

Life is strange though and when My Lovely Wife decided she wanted to learn how to ride I thought “Hey why not it might be fun.” (I certianly couldn’t imagine riding on the back of her bike.) Biggest life changing thing I’ve ever done besides meeting and marrying my wife.

Her interest in it was helped by the fact that my close friend who was at that time living in San Diego started riding (funnily enough because his wife rode)  and so took my wife out on a ride. That was the beginning of the end. Soon we were looking into the MSF and bikes, but the final straw was when my friend told us that he and his wife were moving to NYC and asked if we wanted to buy his wife’s bike. He gave us the deal of our lives on a Ducati 620 Dark and that was that. If it hadn’t been the end of November I’m sure we would have started riding right then, but we put off the MSF till the following Spring. I got my own monster later that summer and well the rest as they say is history.

It still is a bit of an obsession. I don’t live and breathe motorcycles… but it’s close. I write about motorcycles constantly, everyone I know, knows that I ride (a lot) and I’m the default person that my circle of friends to talk to whenever there is a two wheeled question. It’s been good so far, and now I want to go on a ride.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

