Helmet Laws

I was reading Ride Apart this weekend and saw this article on an impending Federal Law on mandatory helmet use for motorcyclists. I’m a bit conflicted on how I feel about this.

I wear a helmet all the time. A full face no compromises helmet. I think everyone should wear one. I believe you’re being at best naive or at worst stupid if you think it’s a good idea to ride in anything less than proper protection.

Riding a motorcycle is already seen as a reckless thing to do. If wearing a helmet reduces the amount of riders killed riding and makes them any statistically amount safer to ride we can hopefully put off even more “safety” legislation against motorcyclists. I would rather be forced to wear a helmet than a Hi vis Jacket or whatever else the Government can think up.

Sometimes though I wish we just had better training and education for all motorists. Getting a license to drive or ride is too easy in this country compared to many others. Even though I’m not sure I’d want some of the draconic laws they have in Europe… Maybe there is a happy medium?

The man behind the visor is a person who feels a regret for passing you so aggressively

The man behind the visor is a person who feels a regret for passing you so aggressively

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Helmet Laws

  1. There is a reason that this came from the CDC and not the DOT or the NHTSA. It is not about helmet laws it is about labeling our activity as a health risk just like cigarettes, soda and Trans fats! If they can label motorcycles as a health risk then higher taxes and heavy restrictions will soon follow. If you have time tke a look at my posts on my blog.

    • Cynic13th says:

      I’m not sure that’s why it’s the CDC. The feds in the form of the DOT and NHTSA can’t pass a law requiring helmets. It’s a matter for the States to decide. The CDC can make it a federal law only by declaring it a health risk.

      It’s not how it should happen, but with so many states rolling back helmet laws, and motorcycle deaths on the rise… it’s not too surprising this is how it goes.

  2. I hope I am wrong but I do not think I am. This statement was taken from a CDC slide presentation on the issue “…. the Task Force’s presentation to the CDC in October 2013 “links the adoption of universal helmet-use laws to a potential reduction in motorcycle riding, which would help meet the CDC’s goal to reduce injuries and fatalities”….” Their goal is to reduce the number of motorcycle riders in the US. The AMA has a FAQ on this issue and seem to have similar concerns as I.

    • Cynic13th says:

      I don’t want to sound like I don’t share your fears. I do think that the AMA which has a massive “pro choice” history isn’t the best source for an unbiased opinion.
      We’ll share our concerns with our congress people and hope it doesn’t hurt our chosen method of travel.

Leave a Reply

