A Little Perspective

I’m getting more and more comfortable with relating my experience on motorcycles and believing that my experience has value and is worth passing on. Part of this change is because of this blog, it’s also that I realized that I’ve managed to get a bit of riding in the past 7 years. In all that riding (over 90 thousand miles) I’ve seen and been through a lot. (as my leg likes to remind me)

So it’s with much delight that I laugh at a couple of acquaintances of mine from the first year I started riding.

We all had Ducati bikes, I had my Monster 620 and they were both on 800cc bikes, one a Supersport the other on a monster. They had less than 7000 miles between them at most on the bikes and I remember them sitting (at a starbucks of all places) talking about how soon they thought they would need a bigger bike. As if somehow a year of riding a 77hp bike that weighs just a bit over 400lbs is enough and you need a bigger bike. I can say that I’m still happy with my little 62hp bike… and excepting the carrying of passengers I can not really think of times I wanted or needed more.

But there we were having this discussion, and I remember thinking then that they were idiots, My opinion hasn’t changed in the past 6 years, only now I think I would feel comfortable telling them that.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

