Two Wheels are Awesome (My Visit to the Motorcycle Show)

The International Motorcycle Show has always been something I’ve enjoyed doing. A chance to get together with all my motorcycle friends and look at all the new bikes and dream a bit about a future bikes.

I’ve been thinking about what to write about this for the past week and have been really struggling to come up with something interesting and insightful to say about it. I was begining to think I had some how lost my motorcycle mojo or my enthusiasm for the sport. However what I really think happened was that the show was just not all that great. Not to say we didn’t have a great time but it’s reached an all time low. The last few years it’s been getting smaller and smaller and now I think it is too small, and since it’s so small it gets really crowded very quickly.

Strangely enough the result is that we did not have enough time to enjoy it since it quickly was filled with people and felt too crowded. This made the show a bit too much to deal with. I wish I knew who to complain to, since I really feel that it’s becoming not worth it to attend. Too few manufactures attend with real booths (no KTM, Ducati, or Aprillia), and not enough vendors. No GIVI Case booth and not even more than one place selling boots were the most obvious things missing.

However there were some great moments to be had, mainly because I brought nine of my closest motorcycle friends and family along with me, without them it would have been much worse.

Someone likes the color green.

Someone likes the color green.

The ladies love a guy on a motorcycle.

The ladies love a guy on a motorcycle.

The new Yamaha drew attention.

The new Yamaha drew attention.

I’m sure I’ll give another chance next year. Maybe I’ll try going late Saturday evening instead of early morning. It might be the last time I go however, it’s just not worth the price of admission, and I would start to feel guilty for getting all my friends to come with me for what ended up being a pretty disappointing show.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Wheels are Awesome (My Visit to the Motorcycle Show)

  1. I plan on attending the International Motorcycle Show in NYC next month. Heck, I am just glad to be getting out of the house!

    • Cynic13th says:

      Hopefully the NYC one will be bigger, I’ve heard it is from friends who have done both.

      It was fun, but mostly because I had lots of good friends with me and I love motorcycles. I just hope it’s better next year.

Leave a Reply

