International Motorcycle Show (why I love to go)

The International Motorcycle Show (IMS) is next weekend in San Mateo and I can’t wait to go.

I’ve gone to the show every year since I started riding. Even in 2010 with a broken leg. (People do look at you a bit strangely when you get out of a wheel chair to sit on a motorcycle for some reason.)

I always make an event out of it, inviting everyone I can think of and go as a big group. We walk around talk about our dream motorcycles and sit on anything that takes our fancy. (and say vroom vroom as we imagine going fast on them)

If you really are interested in riding I do think it’s a great way to see all the different kinds of motorcycles that are available and sit on them with out having a dealer trying to sell it to you. Because of this I often try and get my friends and family that I want to start riding to go. 

It’s also a great way to see everything else that has to do with motorcycling. There are booths selling everything from T-shirts to Helmets to Exhaust pipes. If you’re in the market for some upgrades it’s often easy to get some great deals.

Overall though sometimes I feel like I’m testing your friendship. If you can put up with me for several hours at a motorcycle show it shows you really care.

Oh and you get some of the most amazing pictures (funny and creepy).

Fun to sit on bike.. and get photo bombed by a creepy guy.

Fun to sit on bike.. and get photo bombed by a creepy guy.

A great place to sit on bikes, a motorcycle show near you.

A great place to sit on bikes, a motorcycle show near you.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

