Laguna Seca Part Two

This is the continuation of my Laguna Seca WSBK trip. Part one got a bit long so I broke it up.

I woke up on Sunday to a warm tent. I looked at the clock and it was only 7am. Ugh…

I opened up the tent and drifted back off to sleep, only to be awakened by the most annoying announcer in the world talking… about something on what bikes were about to be out on the track. Thankfully he shut up after a bit and we were allowed to be fully woken up to the roar of motorcycles riding around the track. (Which is nicer somehow.)

I could see and hear the bikes on the track. It was a lovely morning.

I could see and hear the bikes on the track. It was a lovely morning.

Which brings me to the biggest surprise for the weekend for me. It’s how much quieter the WSBK spec machines are compared to the MotoGP ones. Not that they’re quiet really, but the are not nearly as loud. During a MotoGP race you can barely talk to each other over the roar and you have to wear earplugs. WSBK, you could manage to get a few words in and I never felt like it was so loud to need ear protection.

Since between hot tent and noise sleeping was not an option we got up and headed down the hill to look for breakfast. We found coffee, chai and breakfast burritos as well as a place showing the MotoGP race that had happened earlier that morning in Spain. All in all a great breakfast.

Sadly it was at this time that I really began to realize that I was coming down with a bad cold and wasn’t feeling that great. I was pretty meh feeling for the rest of the day.

We did meet up with the NYC friends and watched a Stunting show as well as have lunch and checked out what motorcycle manufactures that were at the track.

The second race for WSBK was luckily not marred by any red flags. It was an joy to watch, with much dueling for the podium and the race winner being decided in the last few laps. Races like that are what make me a fan of the sport.

The bikes looked great on Fox Hill, we the piled stuff on them and went home.

The bikes looked great on Fox Hill, we then piled stuff on them and went home.

We had already packed up, so we headed home immediately after the race was over. The ride home was a grueling two hour slog through traffic and headwinds. I was feeling pretty bad by this point of the day and it sticks in my memory as an awful ride home. We got home fine and after an early dinner I dropped my friend off at the airport and collapsed on my couch.

Overall it was a great race weekend. Laguna Seca for all it’s faults is such a fantastic place to watch races from. I love how easy it is to get around the track and how much you can see from so many great spots on the hills. It’s such a great venue it’s sad that MotoGP won’t be back next year and WSBK may not be either. It’s rather shocking to me since I hated the Austin track in comparison, and I’d rather watch a race at Laguna Seca over anywhere else I’ve been.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Laguna Seca Part Two

  1. Did it cost more to sleep at the track? What a great event.

    • Cynic13th says:

      Yes it costs a bit more to camp at the track. About $40 per night per tent and 2 motorcycles.
      We love camping at the track, I really hope WSBK or MotoGP come to Laguna Seca next year.

  2. My dad took me to a NASCAR race in Phoenix when I was about ten- I was SHOCKED at how thunderously loud the exhausts are! Frankly, it’s kept me from attending a lot of races since then. After fantasizing about MotoGP, and reading these posts, I may have to give WSBK a much closer look!

  3. Pingback: Fox Hill and Laguna Seca Adventures (it got long… so this is part one) | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

