Whoa! Wtf Was That!

New tires.

So I got the bike back and it’s great, but that’s not what this post is about. This post is about New Tires. Mine had about 10k on the rear and 20k on the front and were shot. I had no time to order my usual bridgestones before I picked up the bike to ride to WSBK last weekend so I went with my Mechanic’s Advice and put some Dunlops he likes on.

He did warn me that they are super slippery when new.

Man he was right, they are super slipery…

No I did not crash.

But I did get close… too close.

It’s common knowledge among us who ride that a fresh set of tires can be a dangerous thing. They come from the factory perfectly smooth, this surface quickly scrubs off on the road, but is very slippery when first in contact with pavement. Which means you need to be careful when you first ride on new/slippery tires. Which I normally am and have up until yesterday never had a problem with new tires.

I took it easy on the tires all they way down and back to Laguna Seca, as well as to and from work on Wednesday. So it was with great surprise that as I got onto the freeway and I leaned into the corner giving it a bit (too much) throttle that my rear tire kicked loose and I nearly high sided myself off the bike.

Quite a moment really, one of those that I think would have gone much worse a few years ago.

Of course something like this could have happened because of other reasons than new tires. It was dusk and there could have been something on the road that I did not see. I’m kind of hoping this was the case, since I don’t want to have to worry about how sticky my tires are… and I really don’t want to crash because they betray me at some future time.

I guess I’ll have to trust in them for the time being.

New rear tire New front tire

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whoa! Wtf Was That!

  1. Slippery When Wet makes for a dangerous set of tires but was a title of a Great Album back in the day……..

Leave a Reply

