Three years ago I could have died

Talk about life defining moments.

I’m not sure I’ll ever completely realize how much my life changed as I tumbled down the Highway 101 just north of Santa Barbara. Some changes were immediately obvious, I was going to need a new motorcycle, something was wrong with my leg, and arm, and I was pretty lucky. Other things took a few weeks and months to sink in. I would most likely never be able to run again, walking is more amazing than you might give it credit for, and motorcycling is still really important to me. Years later I am still learning about the changes in my life that crash has inflicted on me.

I used to think people who said I almost died after the motorcycle crash were being overly dramatic. That was before I watched my friend tumble down the road in an equally freak motorcycle accident. This really put how they saw my crash into perspective  I had up to that point been a little selfish in how I viewed my crash. I was looking at it as I saw it, and only from my point of view. I hope I can be forgiven for this, in fact I’m not sure I could have handled the physical trauma of what I went through with the added guilt of what everyone else had to go through. I mean besides my wife I was really oblivious of how it was seen by others. After watching my friend tumble down the road in probably a very similar way that I did, I realized how severe my crash was.

One does not just simply tumble down the road at 60mph.

However, whatever the consequences are I’m still riding. My awesome Ducati Monster has another 25,000 miles on her since then, and I plan on staying on two wheels for as long as I’m physically able.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

