The Other Way Around

I just got home from going to work. Yes on Labor Day, and it’s all my fault for forgetting to do something on Sunday. (Yes I was at work on Sunday too…)

I wanted to wake up earlier, but I was slow getting up and getting ready. The original plan was to ride to work and then take a long/creative ride home. However, by the time I got out of the house it was already late (7am) and as I was getting off the freeway at Page Mill Rd. I realized that my ride home, was most likely going to be ruined by Labor Day Drivers just like my Sunday trip to Santa Cruz a few weeks ago. I made a snap decision to salvage what I could and instead of turning left, I went right and up Page Mill Rd. My new plan was to just ride up and down Page Mill, enjoy that as much as I could and then go to work.

It was a pretty good ride. My TPS is acting up a bit more lately, (or at least I think that’s what causing the problems) but the weather was nice and there was almost no one out on the roads yet.

The really interesting (to me at least) part was that how insanely different the road was coming back down. I almost never ride it down from Skyline. In fact I can’t think of the last time I did.

Riding down was really surreal, I had only the vaguest idea of where the road was going to go next and how each corner worked. Which seems crazy when you think that I ride that road few times a month and just rode it before heading back down. But almost none of the visual cues that I use where there. I only recognized large land marks and crazily noticed some pretty big houses and nice views that I’ve never seen before. It should go without saying that I rode down quite a bit slower than I rode up.

It really left me with a interesting realization. (or two) The fact is that I know Page Mill Rd really, really well, but only when heading Southwest. I barely know where I’m going when going Northeast. I also relearned or reinforced the fact that you can’t go nearly as fast on roads you don’t know. Knowing where all the bumps and off camber areas are, as well as knowing that the road doesn’t turn behind that tree or that crest really changes how quickly you feel safe going. As if wanting to prove this fact, I came acoss a deer standing in the middle of the road. I was going up, so I was going faster, yet still the fact that I came around a corner and saw a deer in the middle of the road was only a minor concern. I still had plenty of time to slow down and let her figure out where she wanted to run off to.

Over all the ride also made me realize that there is nothing like riding to give me reasons to  want to ride more. I hope I can find the time before the weather turns to get out and do a long all day ride.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

