Ducati Posers… I’m glad they’re around

I like going to the Coffee shop on my motorcycle. Not only (as I discussed elsewhere on this blog) do I just enjoy riding the motorcycle anywhere, but just showing up and sitting there with a helmet is like an invitation for other motorcyclists to come talk to you.  It’s a strange thing the motorcycle community, but I’ve had more strangers come up to me and talk to me because of motorcycling than anything else I’ve ever done at a Coffee shop. (Thankfully, I suppose, who wants to be bugged every time they open a laptop or a book at a coffee shop.) Sometimes it’s not always motorcyclists, sometimes it is people who want to save you from yourself and tell you how dangerous they are.  Most of the time however, it’s someone who also rides and just wants to talk about motorcycles.

So there I was, in the coffee shop the other day, working on this blog. My helmet is on the table next to me, and sure enough a guy walks up and asks me if the Ducati outside is mine. I say yes, and he tells me he has a 1098 and was wondering if I’ve had any services done on my bike. I smile, chuckle and tell him yes I’ve had some done, that bike has 60,000 miles on it. He goes on to tell me that he got the bike with 4500 miles on it and is getting close to needing his first service. He wanted to know where I got mine done and how much they were. I helpfully filled him in on the best places in the Bay Area to get a Ducati serviced. He rambled a bit more about how it was his first bike and how he really should’ve gotten a “jap” bike it was about here that I was just smiling and nodding. Realizing that even sometimes motorcyclists are borring. Eventually he finished speaking and he left thanking me.

It does draw some attention.

It does draw some attention.

It was only after he left that I really thought about the fact that he’s only put 3000 miles on his bike in 2 years. I do close to that in 2 months. (as long as the bike is running) I can’t imagine owning a $15k motorcycle and not riding it more than 1500 miles in a year unless it was a dedicated track bike. However, clearly this isn’t the case since it’s his first bike, which alone is worth another rant on this blog.

Overall though it left me with a good feeling. Which does seem a bit strange since over all the conversation was a bit weird. However, it’s always cool to meet someone who shares interests with you, and it’s always nice to have people to feel superior to…

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ducati Posers… I’m glad they’re around

  1. Alex says:

    Jap over Ducati? Hell no!

Leave a Reply

