I need to go to the Isle of Man TT

I like to travel and the Lovely Wife and I have seen quite a bit of the world together. Generally we discuss our next trip for a while, things we want to do and places we want to see and eventually we come to consensus of where we want to go next.

I’m afraid I’m pushing hard for our next out of country trip to be to Merry Old England, or really the Isle of Man to be precise.

Why do I want to go to the Isle of Man you ask. I want to go because one of the insane races ever is held there every year. It’s the Isle of Man TT.

If you don’t care to know anything about motorcycle racing you might want to just stop reading here. I’ve become quite a fan of motorcycle racing ever since I started riding and this has inspired me to want to see the Isle of Man TT. It is one of the longest running road races on public roads in the world, having been started in 1907. The TT has been run almost every year with occasional breaks for world wars. It was part of the world championship from 1949 till 1976.  It is slightly different than most motorcycling racing as it is run as a time trial format and it’s run on a 37 mile circuit around the island, on public roads.

Something about this race has always tugged at my motorcycling soul. I can’t exactly say what it is but when you watch any footage of the race and see how fast they ride down these roads which are mostly just 2 lane highways it is so impressive. So I want to go, and I think I need to go soon.

Preferably very soon, since I’m worried that it will be shut down by a some politician. It’s a justifiable concern since 240 riders have died in the 106 year history of the race.  That’s a lot of rider deaths for a race, but it’s exponetially more dangerous than racing on a track. Tracks have run off areas, and are paved to be as smooth as possible. They don’t have corners with houses, stonewalls  or other such unsoft things that you could end up smashed into should you crash. It’s on public roads which have all the other things that make riding on a road more dangerous than around a track, manhole covers, crosswalk paint, odd crests etc.

Yet riders still spend their lives racing it, sometimes ending in tragedy too early, trying to win. I think it’s crazy. Yet it’s a crazy I understand, it’s the crazy that lots of motorcyclists share. I just don’t have it in the same way they do.

So, wish me luck in convincing the Lovely Wife to let us go to England next Spring. Maybe if I leave at a fancy resort while I go watch racing…

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

