The Coolest Thing About Motorcycles… That Stresses Me the Most

I love motorcycles.

I think I’ve said that a few times in this blog, but just in case you missed it or maybe forgot I thought I would remind you.

They are awesome. One of the coolest things about them (if you live in CA) is that you can Lane Share with them. (lane spliting, filtering, or F’n awesome, call it what you want) I love it, but let me tell you cars don’t make it easy or fun.  I was reminded of this as I came home from Berkeley the other day.

The Bay Bridge… what a mess. Sunday nights are not a time to be heading into the City, but there I was in the midst of it all. It is not just the Bay Bridge that is bad, all the Freeways on both sides are a clogged mess as well. Riding through all this is an exercise in being hyper aware the entire time. It is pretty stressful to navigate across in a timely yet safe manner.

I’m pretty sure that the vast majority of car drivers hate me as they see me go by. I assume this since by my estimation they started trying to get across sometime last week and are upset they’re not home yet. Though as long as they just stay where they are and signal when changing lanes I’m happy.

Riding a motorcycle can often be a very zen like experience. You are completely focused on what you are doing, leaving no time for extra thoughts. This is definitely true when lane splitting through heavy traffic. I’m watching every turn signal, driver’s heads, wheels turning, cars drifting, road condition and more. Just hoping that around that curve or over that horizon there will be free flowing traffic and I can just ride again.

Normally I like to wave to say thanks to cars getting out of my way, but this has sometimes led to my biggest scares. It doesn’t pay to take my hands off the controls, and be distracted trying to thank someone, even for a second.

I know people who ride that bridge every day, I suppose it would get easier and you would learn some tricks and the flow. I don’t think I would want that commute.

All that zen riding is really stressful.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

