Chain Maintance: My Biggest Foe

I ended up not being a complete poser on Tuesday. Fate had other plans. Shortly after I posted my blog the internet at Starbucks stopped working. I decided that it was a sign that I should go get my chain looked at. It has been too loose for too long, and worrying about it was preventing me from riding. A very bad thing indeed.

Unfortunately I’m very bad with chain maintenance. As much as I would like to be better at it there always seems to be a stumbling block. Like I can’t get the axle bolts loose, or I can’t find the time, or the rear stand is in the car which is on loan to my parents, or something else. So off I went to Motorcycle Madness my local motorcycle shop, hoping to get a chain adjustment. Well that didn’t happen, and I ended up with a new chain. Lucky me.

It wasn’t all doom though, there was some humor to be found since as soon as Marcus (the owner) saw me, he asked if I was there for a new chain. Apparently it’s my M.O.

Getting it put on took longer than I would like, since Marcus took the time to train a new employee, but I got the VIP discount and I like to support my local guys as much as I can.

Weirdly enough, while I was there Mike my Ducati mechanic called about the wife’s Monster. Looks like they got the leak fixed on her tank, and it’s ready to go! Which means I hope to go for a ride with the Lovely Wife very soon.

So the really great news is that I got to ride to work Wednesday and today on a mostly trouble free motorcycle. (Damn oil light keeps being a pest.) I also took the “long way home” today, it was fantastic. Such a beautiful summer day, a great day for a motorcycle ride.

Note to self: 27000 miles on the Odo.

Shiny new chain!

Shiny new chain!

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

