A Monster Update (Warning I’m in a “mood” sarcasm and bad humor may be present)

It’s that time of week again!

I really don’t actually try to do these once a week, but with all the crazy that’s been going on in my garage? stable? …whatever, with my bikes, it seems that I should keep you updated. (Not that I think that anyone reads this.) So here we go.

Not that there is much to tell. I did try to adjust my chain… and once again I’m frustrated by my local guys at Motorcycle Madness since they seem to tighten my axle bolts on with some help from Superman. I need a wrench with more leverage… I couldn’t get them loose with my 12″ crescent. So that didn’t happen and it’s getting to the point that I really shouldn’t ride my bike much with the chain as loose as it is. Which is a bummer because I got the oil leak fixed.

The crush washer came in the mail on Monday and Tuesday afternoon I got out there and with a little help from the Lovely Wife I put it in. It wasn’t that hard, so easy in fact that I was almost positive that it wasn’t going to work.

So it was with a little nervousness that I rode to work Wednesday morning. It was fine though. Not a drop of oil (that I could see) leaked out after my ride to work, and the same for the ride home.

Today… (fill in here before posting)

I hope to get the chain tightened soon so I can ride without worry for a while. Too bad I’m out of town all weekend, so maybe late next week.

Well that’s all I have. I’ll keep you posted on how it all goes. (Even if you would rather I didn’t.)

The Obligatory Motorcycle Picture. Poor little guy is all alone.

The Obligatory Motorcycle Picture. Poor little guy is all alone.

 

If you got this far congratulations! You’re a real fan. If you haven’t read my Tuesday post you should. It’s at least twice as good as this one.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Monster Update (Warning I’m in a “mood” sarcasm and bad humor may be present)

  1. Steven P. Tinling says:

    Re: the 12″ crescent wrench. Remember T = FD. Torque equals force time distance. Take wrench to hardware store (or well stocked garage). Find length of pipe which just fits over the wrench handle. Double the effective length of the wrench and you double the torque with no increase in effort on your part. But remember D is measured as the perpendicular to the axis of rotation so place the wrench appropriately. As Archimedes once said (similar principle to torque): “Give me a lever long enough and I shall move the world”. It’s nice to think of you enjoying your “ride” in both senses of the world.

Leave a Reply

