Throttle Posistion Sensor or TPS, why you care what this is. (aka The Most Borring Blog Post EVER!)

You don’t care, but if you’ve been reading this blog over the past few months you know why I do.

I got word today that the hopeful replacement is at the shop and I hope to get my bike down there soon to get it installed. Not that I’m completely convinced it will be the cure all for all my problems. I do hope that it will make a few things better.

So what is a throttle position sensor? Well you could just Google it, but I’ll save you the time and tell you. On bikes like mine, you twist the throttle and it pulls on a wire that injects fuel into the engine. Just like most internal combustion engines (though most are all electronic now). However, the ECU(engine control unit) needs more information than this. The TPS tells the ECU how far you are twisting that throttle 10% 50% or wide open, so the ECU can adjust spark timing and fuel mixture appropriate for the load that the engine is under.

Told you it was boring.

If this isn’t working right, then sometimes the engine goes “flat” or in my case revs slightly at times.

In my case it’s pretty minor over all, but I am looking forward to it working better.

Sadly I really wish I did not even know about such things sometimes.

Oh how much trouble can one little piece cause?

Oh how much trouble can one little piece cause?

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Throttle Posistion Sensor or TPS, why you care what this is. (aka The Most Borring Blog Post EVER!)

  1. Pingback: The Other Way Around | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  2. Pingback: Motorcycle Mechanic Gods (Nichols Sportbike) | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: The Year in Review 2013 | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. Pingback: Reader Request: What advice do I have for buying a Ducati Monster 620 | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  5. Pingback: How I Rode 100,000 Miles on a Ducati Monster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

