The Coolest Bike That Everyone Hates: Ducati 749

Most of the time when I’m dream shopping for a motorcycle I’m pretty practical about it. Let me tell you, there is nothing like suffering through problem after problem on a bike, to make you want something more practical next time. In addition to reliability, I tend to look at riding position, gas mileage, service intervals and other stuff like that.

Then there are days that this is all I want. Fast, futuristic, impractical and and icon of where Ducati supposedly lost it’s way in design.

If Imperial Storm Troopers had race bikes, I imagine this is what they would look like.

If Imperial Storm Troopers had race bikes, I imagine this is what they would look like.

The Ducati 999 (which the 749 above is styled after) is the bike that Ducatisti love to hate. The 916 (996 and 998) which proceeded it are often touted as being the most beautiful motorcycles ever designed. The 999 looks nothing like the 916 and Ducatisti the world over threw a collective fit when it was first released.

When I first started riding a Ducati, I gleefully jumped on the bandwagon of haters and  we rejoiced when the 1098 was released. It wasn’t until a few years later that I really gave the 999 a unbaised look, and I came to really like the stacked headlights and very futuristic (even today) look of the bike. There really is nothing much like it and as far as racing success it was easily as good or better than the bike it replaced and that it was replaced by.

So why do I lust after the 749 and not the 999? Mainly I really don’t think I need to have much more than 100hp in a motorcycle, and since the 749 is the bastard child of a bastard child it can be often found for a good price. It’s also the only one available in black and even better a matt black in the Dark version. Something about this motorcycle just stirs something in me. The part of me that really loves fast.

I just wish it was a little more practical…

Fast from all sides.

Fast from all sides.

I really want this bike now. My Birthday is coming up.

I really want this bike now. My Birthday is coming up.

Edit 2014, July: I’m still lusting after this bike. I’m putting this link here so I can find it when it’s time to finally buy one.

http://www.visordown.com/road-tests-used/buyer-guide-ducati-999-and-749/14581-2.html

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Coolest Bike That Everyone Hates: Ducati 749

  1. romano79 says:

    It was a really hard job to replace the 998, at that I thought they achieved a design perfection that nobody could match, even Ducati.

  2. Pingback: Dream a Little | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: MotoCynic on: Garage Queens – I don’t think I’ll ever make enough money to not ride a bike I own | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. Pingback: True Love: Ducati 749 Dark | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

