Do you accelerate when you get on the Freeway? A motorcyclist’s peeve.

Dear Car Driver,

I know you’re in a car and you can’t accelerate like I do. I’m not really expecting that. However, I would like it if you could at least get up to close to the flow of traffic before we have to merge.

You see I’m pretty exposed back here stuck behind your slow ass. I’m trying to get on the Freeway too. If I get caught between you and some idiot checking their text messages while speeding in the slow lane I’m toast. Getting rear ended as a car sucks, as a motorcyclist it’s game over.

Yours,

MotoCynic

 

On a serious note, I’m not sure people realize how dangerous it is to travel at speeds much slower than the flow of traffic. They must not because they do so all the time, especially when merging onto the highway. Most modern freeway on ramps are plenty long enough to get up to speed. (I do realize there are some that are not and I’m not going to complain about people on those.) So why as I merge on to 280 every afternoon that I fear for my life half the time when I’m behind someone. I even tend to hang back, knowing that I have the acceleration to get up to speed in less time. Giving them room to get out of my way. So rarely does this work out for me.

So I end up stuck behind a slow poke, in the slow lane checking my mirrors like crazy. Desperately looking for any gap or way out of this lane, and making sure the person rushing up behind us is slowing down as to not make motowich out of me.

Ok, I’m done ranting. I’ll have something non angry in a couple of days.

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

