I need to buy a motorcycle this week!

Ok, I do not need to buy a motorcycle this week but D does, so of course I’m involved in this important process.

On the shorter list...

On the shorter list… It’s still a really long list.

D is still looking for a bike and he “needs” one soon since he really wants to ride to some events he’s got going on out here in California in July.

So, we have 2 weeks to find and buy a motorcycle.

This is a harder problem than you might originally think. There are so many variables in this buying decision that it’s hard to make a final decision.

So what are our criteria for this motorcycle?

Three things (as far as I can tell) It has to be cool, it has to be comfortable for long distance, and it can’t be slow. Lots of other stuff is on the list but they are not as important as those three.

The first thing you might not know if you don’t ride is that riding a motorcycle is about passion. First and foremost passion. If you don’t love it you won’t do it. Riding a motorcycle is not easy. It’s not for the weak and not something that you do if not motivated. So since there is so much passion in this sport, you have to love your bike. Well you don’t have to, but it sure helps. (Which is why Harleys and Ducati’s and MV’s still have a market for the prices they demand.)

So now you might begin to understand our problem. He wants something that he can go distance on comfortably, and yet still enjoy a good twisty road. He would also like something that won’t lose too much money if he decides to sell it in a couple of years. And finally it needs to be able to sit for months at a time waiting for him to get back out here to the correct coast.

Now it might not sound as hard as I think it is. But add to the fact that while many bikes look good on paper, they don’t quite stir the soul in person.

In a fit of frustration at how strangely difficult this is the other day I went to craigslist and did a search for all motorcycles between $5k and $7k, since this would be my budget if I was buying a bike. I was surprised to be reminded of two motorcycles that would make my short list if I was spending the money. They are the Kawasaki Versys and the Suzuki Vstrom 650. Which then reminded me of this article.

I have no idea if either of these are what he will end up getting, but I do know that sadly neither light the soul on fire with their looks, maybe the opposite really. All I know is that I look forward to whatever he gets since I’m sure I’ll get to ride it a little.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I need to buy a motorcycle this week!

  1. I am not even in the market to buy a new bike but every other night I look at motorcycles for sale on line. This may be some type of mental issue I have but I do enjoy the hunt. Good luck on the quest.

Leave a Reply

