Motorcyclists Are Simply Cool People

You may not believe this but I don’t ride because motorcycles are cool or because I really think they make me cooler.

Not cool, just awesome people

Not cool, just awesome people!

I am pretty sure that most people, on finding out that I ride, think something along the lines of “man he seems so normal, too bad he’s crazy and is trying to kill himself”. I normally spend most of my converstations with people trying to get them to talk about something else other than the people they know that got hurt riding a motorcycle. (And I really suffer if they find about what happened with the BMW.) So why do I even bring up motorcycles when talking to people? Because the inverse of this is when I meet someone who does ride and better yet loves it like I do we have this instant connection. This is because people who ride motorcycles are cool.

I was reminded of this when I was in NYC a few weeks ago and I reconnected with a friend of a friend. I meet M many years ago at a party and it was before I rode motorcycles. I have not seen M since and only have vaguely heard of his doings through my close friend D. It was funny how much we had to talk about when we were reintroduced. Once we realized that we are both avid motorcyclists it was impossible to get us to stop talking for a while. War stories were shared (of which I have too many) and soon the bond of a similar passion were formed. It is a bit strange to me, since there is really nothing else in my life that I have bonded with people over so quickly.

It is also rare that I meet someone who knows more about the sport in general. My magazine knowledge is pretty insane, to the point of feeling embarrassed about knowing some trivia sometimes, and not correcting people on making a mistake about some detail on the latest model because I don’t want to alienate people. M is the first Motorcyclist I’ve meet in a while who surprised me about knowing certain moto facts that I only thought I would have in my head. He even went one point further by remembering something that I had forgotten.

So despite the fact that I don’t ride because of a mistaken belief that it makes one cool, it does in fact make me cooler… if only to others that ride. Hell I’ll take it. I’ve never been cool in my life.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

