Mass Insanity!?! How do you drive a car in traffic every day?

Does anyone like traffic? Sitting there moving slowly (or not at all) taking twice as long to get somewhere as it would if you were alone on the road. I don’t. I can’t stand it, and sadly I’ve been sitting in traffic a lot more lately.

What a lovely line to wait in

What a lovely line to wait in

I imagine that most people love it, otherwise why would they do it when there is a awesome option. Are motorcycles really that scary or do they like all that time cursing other drivers? Maybe I’m just not zen enough and too easily frustrated with slow moving traffic.

Luckily for both my sanity and blood pressure my daily commute is early in the morning and afternoon so I don’t sit in really any traffic even when in a car. However the few times I was driving in traffic I found myself (even more than normal) wishing that I was on my motorcycle. If everyone was smart they would be wishing I was on one too. Less cars equals less traffic. A reduction in just 5-10% of cars on the road is the difference between total gridlock and free flowing traffic.

The truth is I’m spoiled. I am used to never stopping. Heck, I’m used to not even really slowing down that much. As soon as freeway traffic slows to 50mph and all those cars are lined up with cars right next to them (basically they would be idiots to try and change lanes) I start lane sharing (splitting, filtering).  The only time I stop at all is when some spectacularly stupid happens in front of me. I’m also used to using the carpool lane no matter what the time. In fact on my way to San Jose last week I found myself halfway into the carpool lane before I realized I was alone and in a car and therefore not allowed.

When it is all said and done I’m glad you all enjoy the extra time you have in your car. I enjoy NPR too.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

