Keeping me alive (and comfy)…My Aerostich after 5 years

If you had to slide down the road at 60+mph what would you want to be wearing? Not that sliding down the road is something I really wanted to be doing but sometimes you don’t get the option, as I found out late September 2010.

Back of my Aerostich

Not that bad considering the speed of the crash

I’m really glad I was wearing my Aerostich Roadcrafter. I’m not sure it’s the most amazing piece of motorcycle gear ever made, it is however damn close.

I got my “stich” early in 2008 after getting a big promotion at work. I had wanted one for years and the lovely wife thought it would be a great celebration gift.

In the past five years it’s survived and protected me through at best guess close to 60,000 miles and two significant crashes.  It has also kept me from being hurt at all in the few other times I’ve just tumbled off the bike in a slow speed moment of idiocy. (two involving steep hill u turns and one wet leaves)
With the minor events it has kept me completely unhurt, no bruises, scratches or road rash. In the major crashes it has kept me similarly unbruised, and free of any cuts or road rash. I also think that in the case of my 2010 crash that things could have been exponentially worse if I had not been wearing it.

With all that crashing the only time it was damaged enough to be sent in for repairs was after the 2010 crash. The back was very torn up after all the sliding down the road. The people at Aerostich were great with getting if fixed and almost as good new in no time.

My "stich" in it's I'm taller than Mt. Shasta Glory

My “stich” in it’s I’m taller than Mt. Shasta Glory

The suit is very comfortable. I have no real idea how many hours I’ve worn this suit, but it’s more than any other article of clothing by a large margin I’m sure.

The only downside is that it is hard to wash and the lovely wife thinks it stinks and I’m sure it might, not that I’ve noticed. It probably smells of dead bug and road grime. You have to take out all of the protective pads and then wash it twice, once to clean it and another to wash back in the water proofing. Which means I don’t wash it much.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping me alive (and comfy)…My Aerostich after 5 years

  1. Pingback: My Daily Gear | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

