My poor little Monster

I dislike this dependence I have on mechanics to figure out stuff when it goes wrong on my motorcycle. I know that I shouldn’t let it bug me, but I know that none of it is really that complicated and with lots of time and space I could fix most of what’s wrong. If I knew exactly what was wrong. It’s lucky I love my mechanic. So on to the latest on my poor bike.

The oil pressure light on my Monster flashed on for a while a few weeks ago. It was cold wet and misty so I thought it might have just shorted for a bit since it did not stay on for that long. Last week it did it twice more and I am now trying to figure out how to get the bike to the shop to figure out what has gone wrong. There is no oil in the sensor socket, which normally happens when the sensor dies. If I could change the oil I could look in the pre filter and see if there is metal in it which would point to very bad in the engine. However I don’t have the space to do this.

I’m bummed.

Not only could bad and expensive things be wrong with my motorcycle, but I haven’t been able to ride for a while.

It’s silly how much being with out a bike and worrying about what could be wrong with it seems to suck at my soul. I don’t know why, but not being able to ride and not knowing if I will be able to in the near future just leaves me so down.

I’m just lucky that I have alternative transportation to get to work et cetera since I might be moto-less for a while.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My poor little Monster

  1. Jbo says:

    Scott
    Get parts you need for oil change. We can do it in my garage I have a lift. I have pressure gauges
    which we can but on your bike to see if it is with in specs. jbo

    • cynic13th says:

      Thanks! I’ll see about trying to get it down to you. I’m hoping to borrow a truck sometime this week. I regret selling the pick up at times like this.

  2. I have really been thinking about getting a URAL or Royal Enfield. They are both simply designed bikes where a regular guy can do his own wrenching but then finding parts will be a problem. Im not sure why but I really like both product lines.

    • cynic13th says:

      My problem is diagnostic. (in addition to not having space) I guess I would learn eventually what different things breaking sounded and looked like… But I’m not sure how long that would take with out training, even on a super basic bike like you’re talking about.
      Well I’m hoping to not have to worry about a new bike for another year or so. *crosses fingers*

Leave a Reply

