Riding or flying or swooping.. it’s just better.

I really don’t want this to turn into a Cars suck motorcycles are awesome post and if it comes off that way I am sorry.Image

A few weeks ago I took the MINI to work, and I drove home the long way. It was a nice drive home.

Since then I’ve ridden home on the motorcycle almost everyday, and have taken the long way home two or three times. Each time I’ve thought about how different it was in a car. I did enjoy the MINI the other day, but even after a great drive home, it is still not the same as riding a motorcycle. I mentioned this in the MINI post, but it got me thinking again, about what is it that makes me love riding so damn much.

After much reflection it is not a speed thing as most assume. I think at its most basic it really is just the way you make a motorcycle turn vs. making a car turn. One is passive and the other is active. Strangely enough the motorcycle is more fun because it is harder to turn.  Or maybe not so strange; things that are easy seldom give the pleasure of things you have to work for.

Turning a motorcycle is work. It involves leaning the motorcycle and the faster you are going the more it needs to lean and the more you need to move your body on the bike to keep it upright. That sounds strange, and I do not understand the physics of it all, but I trust the fast people (racers etc.) to know. So I do as they do (as much as I can).

Even with riding a motorcycle being so complicated (and doing it well is even more difficult). I still find that I wish I was better despite the fact that my  riding buddy D thinks I am better than him now (of which I am a bit skeptical) but at the very least suggests I am no longer a novice.

It really doesn’t matter. What the end result is… is flying. Or swooping, or… it’s just awesome.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Riding or flying or swooping.. it’s just better.

  1. pastframe says:

    Funny you should write this post. I was just commenting to my wife that riding a motorcycle is probably the closest that I would ever get to really flying an airplane. Maybe because when we corner the motorcycle, it feels like an airplane banking into a turn.

  2. Agreed wholeheartedly, and it’s why I HATE living in Fargo, ND. I moved here last year with work from Las Vegas and AZ before that to discover flat, straight, boring grid roads and slow speed limits. I’ve never liked Harleys (still don’t), but at least being here in flyover country has made me understand why they exist. I miss sweepers and twisties. 😦

Leave a Reply

