When mechanical things break.

When things go wrong on my vehicles I normally just take them to a repair shop. I know how to change the oil and I’ve done the brakes on my car, but I do not have the space to work on my vehicles.  I am also just a little put off by the idea. Not that I don’t want to do these things, they just make me nervous and so I tend to put them off for too long. So to just get them done and save myself the time I just take them in.

One thing I really like about motorcycles is the fact that if something does go wrong it’s often not hard to find it and work on it. My bike is a naked bike, if you take the seat off and lift up the tank you can get to 90% of the workings of the bike.

So when my oil light was flashing weirdly on the way home last week I pulled over and traced the wire back to where it attaches to the engine and made sure it was properly socket-ed. Problem fixed.

I’m positive I would not have been able to do that on my MINI Cooper or Honda Civic.

Maybe when I grow up I’ll be able to afford a house and get a real garage making things just a little less scary.

Image

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

