Riding in the Wind

It’s been windy lately here in the San Francisco Bay Area, and my ride home the last few days has not been as much fun.

One of the things I love about riding is how in touch you are with the environment you’re riding in. Sometimes this is bad, and then I take advantage of you and make you read about me complaining about them.

A steady wind isn’t horrible, it just can get uncomfortable if it’s a head wind on a bike with no bodywork, but a gusting wind can be really difficult to ride in.

Yesterday we had some quite powerful gusting winds. Seeming to switch from being head on to come in from my left (eastward blowing as I headed north). These are difficult because they not only push the bike around a bit, they also move me around, just imagine trying to drive your car while and invisible passenger randomly jerks on you.  The head wind caused me to slow down when it gusted, meaning I needed to add throttle, to maintain speed, then often ending up going much faster than I needed or wanted to when it stopped, I’m just glad the CHP weren’t waiting in wait for me at some of these moments when I suddenly realized that I was going too fast.

I amuse myself however. Here I’m complaining about this, and it’s likely to be just as windy this afternoon. Did I still ride.

Of course.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding in the Wind

  1. Jbo says:

    when did you get your bike back from the shop?? jbo

Leave a Reply

