Stator (not really battery woes)

So I really like my motorcycle mechanic. They’re very far away, but we have a really good relationship. It took a bit of fiddling but Mike at Nichols found out that my Stator died which as far as I can tell is the coiled wired part of an alternator which of course what charges your battery. It was grounding out and not charging at all or fitfully which is why it took another week for the problem to arise again.

Overall I’m bummed that this damn problem basically ruined my trip to Death Valley but it’s one of those things that you really wouldn’t know about until it breaks, and not much that I can think about to prevent it. I did learn something new which I always enjoy, especially when it comes to motorcycles. I’m just left with the wish for a new motorcycle and a garage to work in.

While I wish for these things and working on bikes appeals, I feel like I would end up frustrated if I couldn’t figure out how to fix things easily, and it seems as if it can be a lot of trial and error.

Just the parts of me wondering what I should do with the rest of my life.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stator (not really battery woes)

  1. Pingback: The Year in Review 2013 | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  2. Pingback: The Next Trip | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

