Just for fun (a ramble on Car people vs Moto people)

This may not make sense to some people. You might have to own a fun car or have owned one to really understand.

I ride for fun a lot. Most motorcyclists I know do too. I also own a great car, which I haven’t gone on a fun drive in for quite a while. Now a part of this is because I own a motorcycle. The other part is that… car people don’t really get together as much. I belong to just as many MINI Cooper groups as I do Ducati Monster Groups and there are more rides than drives… by a bit. I also know more car people than motorcycle people, and they don’t go for “drives” very often. I mean sure right after they get a new car they’re a bit crazy for a while, but then after a year or so… nothing. I’ve had the same motorcycle for 6 years and I still ride that thing with a passion. I take the long way home as often as I can, at least once a week.

Now  I suspect that this has more with the person than the mode of transport, but I also think it has a bit to do with how driving vs riding feels.

When you drive a car fast and then you turn your body is forced to the outside of the turn which makes it harder to turn and in general I find unpleasant.

When riding quickly when you turn the bike, you lean into it and you flow through the corner and honestly I don’t notice the forces that make turning in a car unpleasant. In fact those forces simply push me into the bike and settle me more.

For me, and most motorcyclists, turning is the most fun you can have on a bike. I doubt the same could be said for car drivers. Feel free and reply if this is incorrect I am genuinely curious. But is it the “most” fun thing to do? Honestly?

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

