Packing: Motorcycle Touring

I’ve done a few trips on the motorcycle, most of them for a 3 or 4 day trip. This is what I bring with me on these trips. If you want more info on how I tour on my Ducati Monster I wrote this post.

Moto Gear

  • Aerostitch
  • Helmet (with a tinted and clear visor)
  • Gloves (3 pairs most likely, light weight ones for heat, heavy ones for cold and mid weight for everything else)
  • Boots
  • Neck warmers ( I might bring 3 of these as well. I hate how my chin strap chaffs sometimes)
  • Heated Vest
  • Wind proof shirt
  • Long sleeve moisture wicking shirt
  • Back protector
  • Ear Plugs

Clothing for Three Days

  • 3 pair socks (wool in the cooler months)
  • 3 undershirts
  • 4 underwear
  • 1 Jeans or Shorts
  • 3 T shirts or long sleeve shirts depending on weather
  • Light Jacket
  • Shoes (small and compact for walking after ride)

Misc Moto Stuff

  • Tire Puncture Kit
  • Windex and Rag
  • Tools
  • Lock for gear
  • Extra Key
  • Updated insurance Data, registration etc.

Misc Gear

  • Cell Phone
  • Bluetooth
  • Kindle
  • Chargers for the above
  • Headphones
  • Water Bottle
  • Toiletries

The Luggage

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Packing: Motorcycle Touring

  1. Pingback: Target Portland: The Shopping List | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  2. Pingback: Target Portland: The Shopping List | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: MotoCynic’s Moto Camping Packing List | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. Pingback: MotoCynic Guide: Touring on Ducati Monster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  5. Pingback: Getting Ready For Plan B | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  6. David Lin says:

    I also have a Kriega R20 backpack and I am planning on getting a bunch of their bags for the tail as well. With everything loaded up, doesn’t your backpack get in the way of the luggage on the tail? BTW, I also have a Monster (S2R1000)!!

    • MotoCynic says:

      I find that I lean forward enough on the bike that my backpack only makes it tough to sit up completely straight and really doesn’t interfere with riding at all. If I scooch all the way forward I can even sit up straight if I recall correctly. It definitely doesn’t bug me enough to stick in my mind as a problem =)

  7. Pingback: Motorcycle Touring: Preperation is Important | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  8. Pingback: Getting Ready For the Spring Trip: Using My Blog | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  9. MotoCynic says:

    Need a hat or hats. Warm and sun or rain blocking

Leave a Reply

