Walking it off

I broke my leg a little over two years ago. I had no idea how much it would be changing my life this far down the road. The immediate consequences were obvious. I couldn’t walk for 3 month and couldn’t walk unassisted for almost half a year. The lingering ones were discussed but since no one was sure what they would be I let my optimism take control and not worry about them. Not that worrying about them would have done much good.

So this past weekend I went to the Natural Foods Expo in Anaheim at the convention center next door to Disney Land.

For those who haven’t been there, it’s big.

My two days involved walking around and all over the convention center. This year the basement was full as well as a ballroom on the 3rd floor. This is tiring for even those of us who don’t have bad legs, and sadly it can be punishing on those of us who do. Half way through the second day I grabbed my cane from the hotel room and finished the weekend on it.

It’s frustrating to say the least that I still can’t do simple things like walk for two days. I am not totally desk bound and walk a fair amount, but the fact that I was so worn out and down by this past weekend is disheartening.

I’m not used to being really out of shape. I spent most of my youth pretty active, and have never had much of a problem doing these types of things before.

So, more walking, more activity is needed in my life. We’ll see where that gets us.

Some might find it strange that I still do not regret that ill fated motorcycle ride to Ontario. I would like to have my leg as it was, but life is like that, sometimes it bites, and you have to move forward. Just sometimes it’s a bit slower and more painful than you would like.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

