Spring?

Oh Northern California, how you love to tease.

It was frigid just a few weeks ago, and now the sun is shining and it was over 70 degrees out. Just lovely. Yesterday was almost as nice and on the way home I promised myself I would ride home through the hills. So this afternoon I did take the long way home. It was glorious. The weather was perfect, cool up in the hills but not cold, warm down in the valley but not hot. The roads were dry, and the cars were scarce.

I did have to pass this low red thing driven way too timidly by someone who has more money than skill. I wish I had that kind of money.

I did think a bit about how my body was handling the stress of brisk riding, and sadly it’s not that great. There are muscles that just don’t get worked any other way, and they are weak. My poor right leg gets such a work out, I still compensate too much for my left leg, and my right just ends up aching.

So that’s 2 things to work on, one remember to use the left leg and not to rely on the right, and strengthen up the right. I did find that I did find a groove that wasn’t quite as exhausting, but I really need to get out and ride and also work on general fitness a bit. I don’t want to get so tired on this trip that I end up being dangerous to myself (or others).

Tomorrow I’ll hopefully wake up early and do this all again. Wish me luck.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

