Can I do this?

It’s funny how a little four day trip is beginning to consume me. It’s just that I haven’t done a motorcycle ride like this since I broke my leg 2ish years ago. The lovely wife is nervous as well since the last time I went on a long trip on a motorcycle she ended up with a Husband with a broken leg and arm and a big scare.

I’m just worried about being able to ride a couple of thousand miles and not end up a quivering mess. Of course as soon as I wrote this I had to go look and see how many miles we will actually be riding, and it will only be about 1300 miles. Still a lot, over 300 miles a day, which may not seem like a lot if you spend your time on roads in something with four wheels and AC, but on a motorcycle in the elements and on twisty roads that take all of your concentration, it’s a serious trip.

So I’m hoping to get out this weekend. The weather is going to be nice (for February) and I need to test myself. I would love to ride 300 miles, but I don’t want to be gone all day or bite off more than I should, so just a 150 mile ride up to Fort Ross and back on Hwy 1. I love the coast, and it’s been a few years since I’ve been up it.

Time to visit an old friend.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

