The long way home

Today I took the long way home. Which means instead of getting on 280 I keep going up Page Mill Rd. all the way to Skyline. Page Mill is a good bit or road, very twisty and not very many cars or bicyclists this time of year.
I did this a week and a half ago and it’s amazing how much a difference the tune up did. Second gear was just happier and the whole engine pulled better in any gear. I did a bit of in third gear before I realized it was lagging a bit and put into second again.

My poor right leg gets a work out. Since it hurts to put weight down through my left, I end up shifting most of my weight with mostly my right leg. It doesn’t help I’m sure that my right is still (most likely) stronger than my left. I really do need to get down to the gym and start working out my left leg and see if that helps. I should really do this soon since I’m planning a longish Moto ride, and I don’t want to be too out of shape.

The ride however was good. It was beautiful out, probably in the Mid to high 50’s for most of the ride. I was plenty warm in my vest, which is still the best thing for staying warm, even not plugged into the bike.
The best thing about all my gear is that I hardly noticed the rest of it. It just is there doing it’s job, or really hopefully not doing it’s job since it’s made to protect me in worst case scenario.
I had no “moments” even though I was riding at a pretty good pace. It’s hard to really know how fast I was going since A. I wasn’t really looking at my speedo ,just going from one corner to the next in a fast flowing way, and B I had no one else up there, no fellow riders and I only came up on one car and they were crawling along at 15mph or so.
Just a very nice winter ride through the hills.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

