Fifty Thousand Miles

I’m a little sad that the Monster’s Tach etc. had to be replaced. I can only imagine the feeling of watching the odometer turning (clicking?) over to 50,000 miles. I imagine it would have been a pretty cool feeling. Knowing that all of those miles were done by me, and all of the adventures that I’ve had on the bike being reflected in the mileage. Instead I missed it. Mainly because the new dash is .. well new, and doesn’t have 33,000 miles on it, and I don’t know really how accurate I am at remembering how many miles were on the bike when I replaced the dash. I know it had over 36,000 since I knew it was over due for a 12k service when it died, so between 37 and 38k.

What’s the point of all this? I did not get to experience the thrill of knowing I have ridden that monster over it’s 50k mark. I am pretty sure I have… but I don’t “know” it. I won’t really until I put another thousand miles on it to be sure.
Regardless, there is a thrill of riding a Ducati Monster for that many miles. I know in this day and age of 200k mile cars 50k doesn’t seem like much, but for a motorcycle it is. I don’t know what the average mileage in the U.S.A. is for motorcyclists, but in the U.K. it’s four thousand miles a year. So it would take over twelve years to put that many miles on a bike for the average biker. I started riding in 2006. So in the past 6 years I put 50k on my Ducati Monster, and another 28k or so on the BMW, a bit over most averages. (My sister who is also a riding fiend, has 50k on her bike in 6 years.) So I’m averaging 12k miles a year. The question is, have I learned anything? Or do I have anything note worthy to share after what would be a lifetime of riding for some.

I have certainly crashed enough in the past 6 years. Once so badly that I couldn’t walk for 4 months, and am still feeling the effects almost 2 years later. I learned something all of the crashes, even if it was only never buy BMW. But most of the things I learned by doing, I already “knew” they just got forgotten in a rush of speed.
Oh, but that rush of speed. I can’t get enough of it. The feeling one gets as their innards are pushed back in their bodies, the feeling of acceleration… it’s my drug of choice, and only sometimes is it illegal.

But something worth passing on? Not so much. Except maybe that doing something you love is always worth it.

50,000 miles on a Ducati Monster. I love the bike, and I hate the bike. What have I learned about the bike after puting that many miles on it.
It’s still a great looking bike. Even as dinged up and dirty as it is most of the time. It’s got that something that tugs at my heart and makes me want to ride. The BMW did not have that. It was fun to ride, maybe even easier to ride, but after a ride, sitting at a coffee shop, you did not look at the bike and feel the same. It gets solid gas mileage. It’s only a lil 620, so it’s not hard to see why it gets 49 ish mpg, but it’s nice that it gets into the low 50’s on a good long day of riding. With bar risers and a custom seat the riding position is plenty comfortable.
Gripes? Well the ground clearance sucks. Especially on the left side with the kickstand. I would love a bigger tank, 200 miles is the magic number on range. I’d also like a bit more power, and a top case that didn’t make the bike look stupid, but hey it’s a Ducati. Oh and the suspension is … just not perfect.

However, it’s a great little bike and I’ve definitely gotten a lot of smiles out of the last 50,000 miles.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fifty Thousand Miles

  1. Pingback: 50,000 Miles (plus the 33k from the first one..) | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  2. Pingback: How I Rode 100,000 Miles on a Ducati Monster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

