Poor Ducati Monster 620

I don’t know what I wrote the last time I posted about my Monster. Here’s the short backstory to get you up to speed.
My Dash died. I was told this was a $800+ part. I decided I wanted a new motorcycle more than I wanted to sink a ton of money into an aging bike that might not make it more than a couple of years with how many miles I put on it.
So I got a new motorcycle and put the Monster into short storage.

A month or two ago I got a urge to get it working again. I love that bike and sitting on $3k of bike is pretty stupid. So I looked around for a cheaper Dash to replace my dead one. I couldn’t believe my luck when I found one on Ebay for $400!
I bought it. It arrived and … then sat at the house for a month or so while I tried to find time to get to the bike and try it out.
Eventually I did make it down to try it, and much to my dismay it did not work. I hunted around the internet trying to figure out what I could do to make it work, and why it wasn’t.
The why is simple. The Dash has part of the immobilizer in it, so it doesn’t recognize my key. The how to fix… well that’s much harder, and so far I don’t have a good answer. I might be able to reprogram the dash with my key. I might also just have to send the ECU to someplace to have it reflashed to remove the immobilizer.
Over all… it sucks.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

