My First Track Day – part two


Session Two
I went out with the same instructor the second session. This time following him for a few laps then with him following me. He had some good tips when we finished. This session was shorter because of the time to clean the oil off the track from the first session.
The after session classroom was devoted to late apex and looking through turns.

Session Three
Was getting smoother, still learning the track, but definately getting more comfortable on the bike, and with the Track and where it went. Getting used to getting passed, though some of them were a bit close. Over all I was beginning to settle down.

Lunch

The after lunch classroom was about body position, really getting off the bike, which I thought I was doing until I looked at my photos and realized that I needed to move my shoulders off the bike more.

Session Four and Five.
I really began to enjoy the track, it was still very challenging and turn 5 was still one of the biggest of these, but I began to be able to focus on going fast, and getting around the slower riders than worrying about where the track was going.

Session Six
I rode around with an instructor again and got more tips on hanging off the bike more, and when doing this it helped my confidence a bit more. It’s too bad they’re no pictures from this late in the day.

While there was another session after this I decided to call it a day. I was pretty Tired and had a headache coming on.
So we loaded up the truck and headed home.

Notes:
I filled up the bike at the Track and was still getting 48 mpg.
It only was 94 degrees. Which was ok, forcast was for 101, so 94 not so bad.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Track Day – part two

  1. web_pony says:

    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT đŸ™‚

    wasn’t this the class that got ‘extra’ sessions for the day?
    sounds like it was really instructive/ useful

    getting the body off the bike is so counter-intuitive for me. everything i’ve ridden since I was a wee girl was all about centering my body and riding very much ON the ponies – not too much knee dragging in the arenas =)

    I’m sure that will be (one of) my main challenge.

    p.s. great pics! did C bring a camera too or were these from the track day photo-guy?

Leave a Reply

